Vision, Mission and Values


United and transformed agricultural sector for inclusive growth.


To ensure sustainable food security, socio-economic growth and transformation of the agricultural sector through research and technology development.

Our values

1. Consultation
2. Access
3. Courtesy
4. Information
5. Client centred service standard
6. Redress
7. Accountability
8. Openness and Transparency
9. Value for money



Legislative and other mandates

1.1. Constitutional Mandates

The Department is governed by certain mandates that are enshrined in the
Constitution of South Africa. These relevant sections of the constitution are
stipulated below.

Section 27b of the Constitution of South Africa, Act 108 of 1996 states that
everyone has the right to have access to sufficient food and the state must take
reasonable legislative and other measures within its available resources, to
achieve the progressive realisation of this right.

2.2. Legislative mandates

The following list of Acts reflects the legislative mandates of the department:

  • Agricultural Debt Management Act, No. 45 of 2001
  • Agricultural Pests Act, No 36 of 1983
  • Animal Health Act, No 7 of 2002 (To replace Animal Disease Act, 1984)
  • Animal Identification Act, No 6 of 2002
  • Animal Improvement Act, No 62 of 1998
  • Communal Property Association Act, No 28 of 1996
  • Conservation of Agricultural Resources Act, No 43 of 1983
  • Development Facilitation Act, No 67 of 1997
  • Land and Agricultural Development Bank Act, No 15 of 2002
  • Marketing of Agricultural Products Act, No 47 of 1996
  • Meat Safety Act, No 40 of 2002
  • North West Land Administration Act, No 4 of 2001
  • Prevention of Illegal Eviction from Unlawful Occupation of Land Act, No19 of
  • Problem Animal Control Ordinance Act, No 26 of 1957
  • Provincial Growth and Development Strategy
  • Accelerated Shared Growth Initiative of South Africa (ASGISA)
  • Subdivision of Agricultural Land Act, No 70 of 1970 as amended
  • Taung Agricultural College Amendment Act, No 16 of 1994

2.3 Policy Mandates

  • Integrated Food Security Strategy , (2002
  • Land Distribution Policy For Agricultural Development
  • Integrated and Sustainable Rural Development Programme
  • Comprehensive Rural Development Strategy, 2009
  • Provincial Growth and Development Strategy, 2004


Goals and Objectives